top of page
  • Writer's pictureMeghan Bartok

A Phuket Photostory

Updated: Aug 3, 2021

I won't lie to you, I didn't love my time in Phuket. The hostel I stayed at was very quiet, and I only met one other backpacker while I was there. She was lovely though, and we had some nice dinners and girl bonding chats (shout out to Jess - hope you're doing well back in Australia!) Other than that, I spent a lot of time lying on the beach, book in hand. Don't get me wrong, it's not a bad way to spend a holiday, but I had just come off a great time in Singapore where I had made loads of awesome friends and had a great time exploring the city with them. I guess I spent my week in Phuket feeling a little lonely.


Since I don't have a lot to write about Phuket, I figured I would just post some of my favorite photos. Thailand was really beautiful, and I would love to go back to see more of it before leaving Asia!

 


The water in Phuket was crystal clear and so clean. I really enjoyed having such a nice beach to relax on for the week!








I walked all the way up this massive hill to the sunset viewpoint because I was both too cheap and too nervous to figure out how to get a taxi there. While the walk was super tiring and sweaty, the sunset was 100% worth it!







I found this cute little coffee shop on my day in Phuket Town. I mostly stopped inside because I needed some air conditioning after walking around all day, but the coffee ended up being really good too!


Campus Coffee Roaster

6 Krabi Road, Tambon Talat Nuea, Mueang Phuket District, Phuket 83000, Thailand




 







Shops selling gasoline in old liquor bottles were a common sight around Phuket, due to the popularity of renting motorbikes to explore the island.








 

I ate this DELICIOUS Thai green curry multiple times during my week in Phuket. Adding the frozen limeade was a great way to cool off in the tropical heat. My favorite restaurant was Red Chair Thai in Karon, right down the road from my hostel. This meal was around $5, and completely worth it!


 

Phuket Town had so many colorful buildings with quirky shops to check out!

 

I splurged for one night to stay at the Holiday Inn Resort. My dad had stayed there in the 80s when it first opened, and I knew I couldn't go to Phuket without seeing it for myself. Overall, I was a bit underwhelmed, but the pool was really nice, and I got to sleep in a big, comfortable bed for the night!


 



One of the days there, I took a songthaew, which is Phuket's cheap public bus, to Wat Chalong. This is Phuket's most important Buddhist temple.









The complex is huge and beautiful. The colors and details were so rich. I spent the whole afternoon wandering around, taking pictures, and admiring everything.










 

On my last night in Phuket, I stayed in a hostel by the airport, as I had an early flight out the next day. I met these two really nice Canadian guys and we went down to the beach to do some plane spotting - Phuket Airport is right next to the beach, and we got to see a bunch of planes landing and taking off right above us.

 

Thailand was one of the most colorful places I've been to, and it was so easy to photograph. I hope you enjoyed the photos. I know I enjoyed reminiscing a little!

4 views
bottom of page