top of page
  • Writer's pictureMeghan Bartok

Working at paradise in the Whitsundays

Updated: Dec 6, 2020

Well, it’s been a whole week of work up in the Whitsundays, so it’s probably time to update y’all on the goings-on down under – to my seven loyal readers, thank you! I’ve checked off one of my five(ish) weeks at Paradise Cove, the place that I’m working at for the time being. The work isn’t hard, just slightly repetitive. Lots of dishes and making beds, but it’s totally worth it to be able to enjoy this place and live here for free. It’s definitely such an interesting experience – not something I would have been able to do back at home! Also, the pool is to die for, so that in and of itself is worth it.

Paradise Cove isn’t on an island, but it’s so isolated that sometimes it feels like it is, which is both a curse and a blessing. I love having absolutely no cell phone reception and the fact that there is only wifi in the main house. However, the remoteness of it means that there is no easy way to get to shops, and damn, am I really craving some hummus right about now! But the good parts definitely outweigh the lack of hummus, so here they are!

  1. I know I’ve already said this, but the pool. It’s easily the nicest outdoor pool I’ve ever seen.

  2. Not being in the city. Sydney is so nice, but I’m definitely much more at home somewhere more rural.

  3. Everything being outside. Our toilet, shower, and bathtub are all outside, and it’s actually super nice!

  4. Not wearing shoes. I’ve only put shoes on once in the past week, and I love it!

  5. All of the wildlife – I’ve seen so many different animals since I’ve been here, there’s something new every day!

  6. The sunshine. This might be an obvious one, but the weather has been so nice up here! 85+ (30+ in Celsius) and sunny almost every day!

  7. Having a schedule. Having a morning alarm and ‘bedtime’ is honestly so nice after sleeping in late and not having anything I HAD to do in Sydney.

That’s what I’ve got for you for now. It’ll probably be a lot of the same thing for the next month, but I’ll try to find something interesting to write about!

2 views

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page